A trip through the 7 circles of hell, aka first trimester

So, it’s semi public by now and therefore blogaboutable, right?
Indeed. As it stands, I’m busy growing another human. It was quite a surprise, but a pleasant one, after the initial “where the hell is my period and why are my boobs so sore” reaction.

The first couple of weeks of being in the know were fantastic. It’s a very exhilarating time.  I downloaded apps for the phone, read up on fetal development, made doctors appointments, peed on sticks, quit coffee, spent 2 hours in the  prenatal vitamin aisle at the health food store and all that jazz. Then I got tired.  REALLY tired. No amount of sleep seemed to cut it, and before you knew it, I’m napping at my desk or on the mini couch at work.  When I’d been tired as hell for a couple of weeks, Nausea rode up on her hellish steed. Just a little check in at first – and oddly enough I thought it was kind of cool at the time. Proper pregnancy symptoms, check! It is really happening! No big deal, right, just suck on some ginger candy and eat crackers, I got this.

Shortly Nausea stepped it up,  escalating to a complete and total hostile takeover. I’ve thrown up in toilets, kitchen sinks, bathroom sinks, at a red light, in a styrofoam cup, on the ground and in the bushes. And ALMOST in the Apple store, although praise Steve Jobs, I managed to choke that one down.
Unlike when you are sick, pregnancy puke will not make you feel better. At least not in my case.  You remain just as miserable as you were when you started retching.
And sleep…. ahh sweet slumber. You left me too, right with my appetite. I spend my nights waking up to pee, check in with Nausea, adjust positions and sometimes for no reason at all. Which is when I play Words with Friends or Bejeweled until I can go back to sleep or the phone runs out of battery. My internal thermostat is riding its own hormonal swings too, and I alternate being freezing cold and way hot, in my carefully temperature controlled bedroom.  This shit sucks, but I keep reminding myself that it’s for a good cause.

Tomorrow I’ll be 13 weeks, and all the books promise that I’ll soon wrap up this phase and emerge gorgeously pregnant and glowing.
I’m ready, bring on the damn glow.

4 thoughts on “A trip through the 7 circles of hell, aka first trimester

  1. AWWWW :( I feel your pain. I am 12 weeks with our second and I got the good ole morning sickness myself. Well all day sickness. It’s terrible! Worst part to me? men don’t understand. They should have to go through it for a month! My back pain started up again. With my first pregnancy I had back pain from month 3-7….then like magic….it disappeared!!! Like maybe the uterus moved into a good pulling position for my back. I am now starting to get that back pain back. and sleep?? PSHHH FORGET SLEEP! It’s just not fair, I tell ya!

  2. Þú ert Fyndin! (Með stóru F-i, taktu eftir). Gaman að lesa þetta allt. Ég slapp guði-sé-lof við ógleðina þegar ég gekk með Ragga en ég var hryllilega þreytt fyrstu 3 mánuðina. Á eftir að fylgjast með þessu bloggi.
    Knús
    Ester

Leave a Reply

