Cruel, cruel move, Starbucks

I like my fancy ass coffee, I’ll admit. I live in a little town that for some absurd reason does not sport a Starbucks outlet, despite having a hoity-toity private university. You’d think the spoiled little brats attending that school would like their latte fix, but for some reason they make do with the mediocre coffee shop downtown, and the “currently under new management” Dunkin Donuts up the street.  There is no Target either, which is another incredibly sore spot.

So, whenever I travel or head to the neighboring towns & cities, I make a point of stopping by Starbucks and treat myself to an overpriced cup of joe, served with a smile. It makes me happy on the inside.

And then struck pregnancy, and with that a fierce coffee debate. Should you, or should you not consume the black gold when knocked up? The answers vary greatly and are often presented with religious fervor. It ranges from “you and everyone you care about will die a horrific death if you drink coffee AT ALL whilst pregnant” to the European “it’s fine in moderation, and by moderation we mean 3 cups”.
Note here, that a European cup is about a half of what Americans consider a cup, but it is also twice as potent. You do the math.

I made the personal decision to give the Keurig a break at least through the first trimester and somewhat into the second. I have had a few cups of tea and those tasted awesome. Black tea yes, and I’m aware of the caffeine content.  For me, decaf isn’t an option after reading up on the decaffeination process. Gnarly shit.
It hasn’t been bad at all, until this morning when I get my daily digest from this online baby info site called babycenter, with a big fat ad for Starbucks down the side bar. Now I want a latte, in a bad way.  That’s just wrong Starbucks…..

Leave a Reply

