Head-up-my-ass week is finally over. Almost.

Oh I’ve been a royal joy to be around for the past few days, on and off. I’m not sure if it’s pregnancy hormones. They probably play a part at least. I mean really, is there anything you can’t blame on these lovely little molecules swirling around in my blood stream? It could also be my inflated, snot filled sinuses, the dreary days of December, holiday stress and the general “I’m fucking over this shit” feeling.

Either way, thankfully I’ve been aware of the thorns sticking out and made sure to get enough rest, chicken soup and generally minimize my exposure to other people. For their own benefit. Sinuses are behaving better now, my chest no longer feels like an elephant is sitting on it, presents for precious little nephews have been bought and mailed, gag gifts for little brothers are out-of-the-way too, and even the toughest gifts of all – for mom and dad. All done, wrapped, sent and shipped.
I’m about 10 years late with the Christmas card production, but making an effort this year to get some out to friends and family, especially back home. The older I get, the mushier I get on the inside, and the more I want to keep in touch with the homeland.

The little Bean in the belly is doing great. She’s kicking up a storm and moving around, enjoying the pool while there is still space to do flip turns and laps. I’m feeling heavier, slower and a little poofed out in general. The blood thinners I inject seem to make me retain fluids, and that combined with pregnancy has started to make for some lovely cankles.  It’s not terrible as of yet and I’m careful to hydrate and keep those feet up while I work on the computer. The expanding belly is also slowly but surely wiping out some of my good injection sites, so the love handles are seeing a lot of action. I’m not bruising too badly yet, since I’ve seem to have developed a decent sixth sense as to where to jab that needle in.

On the home front, the husband is in full-blown nesting mode. We finally tore out the saggy wire shelves in the closet and installed some Algot shelves from IKEA.  Now I’m a multi-year veteran of IKEA productions and assembly and this damn thing almost did me in. While it’s extremely modular and adaptable – and exactly what I needed for my oddly shaped, weirdly sized closet, designing and buying it was no joke. Essentially you need a PhD in “closetry” to be able to come home with all the right parts in the right quantities to get the job done.  This weekend I’ll be making my 3rd trip to IKEA to exchange bits and pieces.  On the bright side I get to visit the IKEA restaurant sit down some tasty Swedish food and a book for a little  break, my favorite part :)

One thought on “Head-up-my-ass week is finally over. Almost.

  1. Það er ekkert grín að vera ófrísk og lasin. Ég man vel eftir flensunni sem ég fékk á 8 mánuði fyrir bráðum 13 árum…flestir í kring um mig muna það sennilega líka!
    Gott að heyra bumbubúanum líður vel og að eiginmaðurinn sé í hreiðurgerðinni.
    Hvað er það annars með IKEA þarna úti, er þetta eitthvað flóknara drasl en við fáum sent hingað til lands, ég man varla eftir bandarískum þætti sem ekki gerir grín að því að setja saman vörur frá þeim.

Leave a Reply

